Student news 6-19-13

Posted June 19, 2013 at 12:00 am

Student news

Kayla Fawcett, Miller, received her bachelor of science degrees during graduation exercises at the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. She received degrees in applied and computational mathematics and in chemical engineering.

Gina Marie Neu, Rockham, received her doctor of veterinary medicine degree from Iowa State University during its commencement ceremonies held May 10.

Ana Marie Nelson, Miller, was named to the dean’s list for the spring semester of the 2012-13 academic year at Augustana College, Sioux Falls. Students must have a grade-point average of 3.5 or above and have a minimum of 12 credit hours to be named to the list.

Katie Schaefers, Miller, industrial engineering and engineering management major, was named to the dean’s list for the 2013 spring semester at South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. Students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester to be named to the list.

Lake Area Technical Institute has announced the current president’s list. Local students who achieved the honor are Kathryn Hamiel and Evan Wieseler, both of St. Lawrence; Wilbur Jones, Ree Heights; and William Jones, Tara Parmely and Heath Smith, all of Miller.

Dana Fanning, St. Lawrence, was named to the president’s list at Presentation College, Aberdeen, for the spring 2013 semester. To qualify for the president’s list, students must have earned a 4.0 grade point average.

Elizabeth Huber of Miller was named to the spring 2013 dean’s list at Creighton University, Omaha. To be named to the list, a student must earn a 3.5 grade-point average.

The dean’s list at Black Hills State University, Spearfish, has been announced. Named to the list from Miller are Alexander Johnsen and Austin Johnsen,