Snow Queen Festival will celebrate ‘A Magical Season’

Posted November 13, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Mark Saturday, Nov. 24 on your calendar for the annual Snow Queen Festival. Sponsored by the Miller Music Parents, the festival will begin at 7 p.m. in the Miller Armory.

This year’s theme will be “A Magical Season,” and will feature Snow Queen and Junior Snow Queen candidates, as well as the little Snowflakes and their escorts. Another high point of the evening will be the introduction of this year’s Frosty.

Six seniors will be the Snow Queen contestants. They are Kelsey Johnson, Danica Fanning, Brianne Bertsch, Kirstyn Fiala, Cassandra Coss and Jonni Blake. Escorts will be Jordan DeBoer and Sam Simons.

Thirteen freshmen are vying for the Junior Snow Queen title. Candidates are Chelcia Speirs, Megan Fiala, Kaitlyn King, Ashley Gaspar, Tia Pawlowski, Kylie Oligmueller, Nicole Swartz, Dana Tice, Rilea Mielke, Shae Knox, Claudia Rombough, Samantha Sporrer and Allison Hasart. Their escorts will be Jason Manning, Adam Bertsch and Drew Sivertsen.

Lovely little girls from the first-grade class will be on hand as Snowflakes. They are Shaylee Anderberg, Joanlei Baker, Faith Christiansen, Laura Evans, Maya Howard, Sydney Johnsen, Tommie Martin, Journey Palmer, Emily Poindexter, Heather Resel, Dylan Schnathorst, Carlie Selting and Cassie VanDerWerff.

The Snowflakes will be escorted by Tanner Wallman, Landon Wagner, Garrett Van Zee, Ian Speck, Braeden Seidel, Logan Peterson, Carson Miner, Carter Kruml, Teagan Herrick, Hagen Fritzsche, Keaton Dyer, Diego Cruz, Davin Bossert and Paton Coyle.

Ed Schaff will serve as emcee. Musical entertainment will be provided by the Miller High School jazz band, the MHS vocal jazz and For the Love of Dance dancers.

The 2013 Snow Queen will be crowned by Mackenzie Pfeifle, the current Miss Miller 2012. Current Junior Miss Miller Cassie Beckett will crown the new 2013 Junior Snow Queen.

The two winners will compete in the South Dakota Snow Queen Festival, to be held at Aberdeen in January.