Searing wins first Super Stock feature

Posted June 28, 2013 at 2:48 pm
Speedway Street Stock.jpg

Dawn Joy
BLAYNE BALOUN, St. Lawrence, was the feature winner in the Wissota Street Stock.

It was a beautiful night at the Miller Speedway on American Bank and Trust night, June 14. There were 39 cars in the pits and the track was fast and tacky. There was a special Cash Dash for the UCARs won by Curt Manning.

The evening’s features started off with the Clark Pump N Pak UCARs. Jordan Kienow jumped into the lead on the start. He looked like a winner, but Bowdry Morris ran him down and took the lead on lap 7 and led the rest of the way over Kienow, Robert Ross, Curt Manning and Tre Blasdell. It was Morris’s second feature win at the Miller Speedway.

Next up were the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds. Lane Johnson led the first two laps before Tony Konold powered past. Lorin Johnson worked his way up from his 10th starting position to second, but he had nothing for Konold who won his second MW Modified feature at the track over Lorin Johnson, David Carlson, Adam Brotherton and Lane Johnson.

The WISSOTA Street Stocks rolled out for their main event. Things got hairy in turns one and two on the first lap with a three-wide battle for the lead that ended when Michael Hammill turned in the scramble and nearly rolled over. Hammill went off on the hook and on the restart Casey Carstens took the lead for the first three laps until three-time track champion Blayne Baloun got by on an outside pass that took over a lap to complete. Carstens stayed with Baloun but couldn’t mount a challenge, but he still got his career best finish. Jeremy Sengelmann, Broc Stout and Jeff Rawstern rounded out the top five. It was Baloun’s 15th feature win at the track.

Rounding out the night were the WISSOTA Super Stocks. Cole Searing ran away on the start and never looked back, winning his first Super Stock feature at the Miller Speedway. He was followed by Jeremy North, Kelly Duffy, Lorin Johnson and Alan Dorris.

Races are every Friday night through August 9. Starting time is 7:30.

WISSOTA Super Stock main: 1. Cole Searing, Huron 2. Jeremy North, Huron 3. Kelly Duffy, Winner 4. Lorin Johnson, Miller 5. Alan Dorris, Huron 6. Tony Terrill, Clark DNF: David Carlson, Huron; Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence

Heat: Carlson, Arthur, Searing, Duffy, North

WISSOTA Midwest Modified main: 1. Tony Konold, Groton 2. Lorin Johnson, Miller 3. David Carlson, Huron 4. Adam Brotherton, Huron 5. Lane Johnson, Miller 6. Spence Pollock, Miller 7. Kyle Carter, Wolsey 8. Zach Pollock, Miller 9. Trenton Jones, Highmore DNF: Jim Danburg, Miller; Britt Williams, Fort Pierre; Caleb Yost, Miller; Hayden Herman, Miller; Kyle Knouse, Huron

Heat 1: Konold, Lo. Johnson, Carlson, Z. Pollock, Brotherton

Heat 2: S. Pollock, La. Johnson, Danburg, Knouse, Williams

WISSOTA Street Stock main: 1. Blayne Baloun, St. Lawrence 2. Casey Carstens, Mitchell 3. Jeremy Sengelmann, Dallas 4. Broc Stout, Winner 5. Jeff Rawstern, Blunt 6. Kyle Bertsch, St. Lawrence 7. Evan Wieseler, St. Lawrence DNF: Grady Myers, Ethan; Joel Sengelmann, Pierre; Michael Hammill, Miller

Heat 1: Stout, Hammill, Je. Sengelmann

Heat 2: Baloun, Carstens, Jo. Sengelmann, Rawstern, Wieseler

Clark Pump N Pak UCAR main: 1. Bowdry Morris, St. Lawrence 2. Jordan Kienow, Miller 3. Robert Ross, St. Lawrence 4. Curt Manning, Miller 5. Tre Blasdell, Miller 6. Walter Ufen, MIller DNS: Brandon Hammill, Miller

Heat: Manning, Kienow, Blasdell, Ross, Morris

Speedway Midwest Mods?.jpg

Dawn Joy
TONY KONOLD, Groton, was the feature winner in the Wissota Midwest Modified.

Speedway Late Model.jpg

Dawn Joy
COLE SEARING, Huron, was the feature winner in the Wissota Super Stock.