Municipal officials meet in Huron 5-1-13

Posted May 1, 2013 at 8:00 am

More than 63 municipal officials representing 10 cities gathered at the South Dakota Municipal League’s annual District 2 Meeting, held in Huron on April 24, 2013.

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League Executive Director, spoke about the outcome of the 2013 Legislative Session, and the effect new laws will have on South Dakota municipalities. Taylor also discussed the direction and future of the Municipal League and services offered to the municipalities.

“More and more we are seeing the need to get better information out to the citizens and legislators. Municipal government provides a vast array of services, and people need to be informed of where their tax dollars are going. This type of education can only benefit municipal government. The taxpayers would be very proud of their local government if they were fully aware of how much service a municipality provides at a relatively low cost,” Taylor said.

Paul Young, SDML President for 2013 and Councilmember for the City of Spearfish, was also on hand to discuss his priorities for the current year as well as to conduct the election of District 2 officers for the upcoming year. Others in attendance were representatives of various state agencies and representatives of groups affiliated with the Municipal League.

Tim Reed, Mayor in Brookings, was elected as District 2 Chair and Paullyn Carey, Finance Officer in Huron, was elected as Vice Chair.

In other business, those attending voted to hold the 2014 District 2 Meeting in Huron.

Municipal officials meet in Huron