Miller one of 24 towns to promote pheasant hunting

Posted October 18, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Miller is one of 24 communities from across South Dakota that is partnering with the Department of Tourism to promote pheasant hunting during the Department’s 2011 Rooster Rush promotion.

Miller’s C&C sponsored the fourth annual release of eight banded pheasants. Each band was worth one of eight gifts redeemable in Miller.


Hunters walk the fields opening weekend in northern Hand County. Photo by Jaimi M. Lammers | The Miller Press

Community organizations, such as regional tourism associations, convention and visitors bureaus, chambers of commerce, economic development offices and civic organizations, were given the opportunity to apply for up to $500 in funding for Rooster Rush promotional materials or advertising. The Department of Tourism provided the Rooster Rush logo and ad templates for communities to customize with localized information.

Pheasant hunting in South Dakota is a tradition that includes families in communities across the state, said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the Department of Tourism. Our goal with the Rooster Rush is to put a spotlight on the world-class pheasant hunting in our state and to give communities a head-start in developing their own Rooster Rush promotion. When hunters see the Rooster Rush logo and enter our partner communities, they feel at home and welcomed.

These communities and their organizations will have the opportunity to enter their Rooster Rush marketing efforts for a chance to win the Cacklin’ Community Award. The award is announced at the annual Governor’s Conference on Tourism in January, and includes $1,000 to be used toward cooperative marketing with the Department of Tourism and an advertisement in Pheasants Forever Journal.

In addition to Miller, Rooster Rush communities that received funding and/or merchandise include Aberdeen, Armour, Big Stone City, Bowdle, Chamberlain, Freeman, Fort Pierre, Huron, Ipswich, Madison, Milbank, Mitchell, Oacoma, Pierre, Platte, Presho, Reliance, Sioux Falls, Sisseton, Watertown, Wessington Springs, Winner and Yankton. In addition, the Glacial Lakes and Prairies, Great Lakes and Southeast Tourism associations received Rooster Rush funds and merchandise.

Thus far, the Rooster Rush campaign has generated 5,358 giveaway entries, and a seven percent increase in Web traffic to over last year. The top states for Web traffic are Colorado, Illinois, Minnesota, South Dakota, Texas and Wisconsin.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council, and the South Dakota State Historical Society. The Department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.