Konold first woman to win feature race at Miller Speedway

Posted July 24, 2013 at 12:00 am

July 19 was another hot night at the Miller Speedway, but once the sun went down the wind came up and cooled down the good crowd for Budweiser Night. Rawstern Racing sponsored the candy scramble. Thirty-three cars were on hand.

Speedway jordan.jpg

The feature race action started off with the Clark Pump N Pak UCARs. Tre Blasdell led the first seven laps before Jordan Kienow took the lead. Blasdell spun in turn two and brought out the caution. Blasdell had driven up to third from the rear when his right rear axle failed in turn four on the last lap. Kienow scored his fifth feature win at the Miller Speedway, followed by Curt Manning, Brandon Hammill, Mike Hammill and Robert Ross.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds were next. Zach Pollock led the first lap, but then he spun in turn four and was hit by Tony Konold. That started a chain reaction that knocked Zach’s brother Spence out of the race. Dustin Hofer took over on the restart and scored his first ever feature win over Jim Danburg, Konold, David Carlson and Britt Williams.

The WISSOTA Street Stock feature went non stop with Casey Carstens leading the first lap before Maria Konold powered by and ran away with the win. She became the first woman to win a feature race at the Miller Speedway. Blayne Baloun, Carstens, Michael Hammill and Jeff Rawstern rounded out the top five.

The WISSOTA Super Stocks capped off the night, with David Carlson leading the first two laps before Dustin Arthur nosed ahead on lap three. Carlson retook the lead on lap four, but then Arthur took the lead again, this time for good, on lap five. Arthur went on to win his 18th feature at the Miller Speedway over Carlson, Lorin Johnson and Jeremy North.

There are just three weeks remaining in the 2013 season at the Miller Speedway. For the next two weeks, the Quad racers will be present, then the Season Championship on August 9 will also have the second annual appearance of the WISSOTA Modifieds.

Starting time is 7:30 p.m.

WISSOTA Super Stock main: 1. Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence 2. David Carlson, Huron 3. Lorin Johnson, Miller 4. Jeremy North, Huron DNF: Clifford Houser, Kimball.

Heat: Arthur, North, Johnson, Carlson, Houser.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified main: 1. Dustin Hofer, Huron 2. Jim Danburg, Miller 3. Tony Konold, Groton 4. David Carlson, Huron 5. Britt Williams, Fort Pierre 6. Trenton Jones, Highmore 7. Hayden Herman, Miller DNF: Kyle Knouse, Huron; Zach Pollock, Miller; Caleb Yost, Miller; Lorin Johnson, Miller; Spence Pollock, Miller.

Heat 1: Konold, Carlson, Danburg, Herman, Yost.

Heat 2: Johnson, Z. Pollock, Hofer, Williams, S. Pollock.

WISSOTA Street Stock main: 1. Maria Konold, Goodwin 2. Blayne Baloun, St. Lawrence 3. Casey Carstens, Mitchell 4. Michael Hammill, Miller 5. Jeff Rawstern, Blunt 6. Kyle Bertsch, St. Lawrence 7. Evan Wieseler, St. Lawrence.

Heat: Hammill, Baloun, Rawstern, Konold, Carstens.

Clark Pump N Pak UCAR main: 1. Jordan Kienow, Miller 2. Curt Manning, Miller 3. Brandon Hammill, Miller 4. Mike Hammill, Miller 5. Robert Ross, St. Lawrence 6. Wally Ufen, Miller DNF: Tre Blasdell, Miller; Jordan Rawstern, Blunt; Bowdry Morris, St. Lawrence.

Heat: Ross, Kienow, Blasdell, M. Hammill, Morris.

Speedway dustin hofer.jpg
Speedway dustin arthur.jpg