Johnson wins 40th Midwest Mod race

Posted July 12, 2013 at 1:21 pm

It was a hot humid still night at the Miller Speedway July 5, but in spite of the weather, the best crowd of the year came for Wilbur-Ellis night. As usual, they brought out a spray rig to serve as the pace vehicle. Johnson racing sponsored the candy scramble. There were 29 cars on hand, with the threatening weather lowering the car count. The track was tacky and fast all night long.

Bowdry Morris.jpg

The evening’s feature action started with the Clark Pump N Pak UCARs, which ended up being the race of the night. On the start Tre Blasdell got bumped on the backstretch and nearly crashed, but managed to stop just short of the guardrail. It was a complete restart and Blasdell got his spot back and took the lead on the restart.

He led the first lap, but did a 360 spin coming off of turn two. Curt Manning led on the restart, but he only led for a lap. Then Bowdry Morris drove into the lead and never looked back, winning his third feature win at the Speedway, followed by Manning, Robert Ross, Mike Hammill and Brandon Hammill.

Then came the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds. Kyle Knouse led the first three laps before Lorin Johnson took the lead and ran off to his 40th MW Mod feature win at the track being pursued all the way by David Carlson, Knouse, Adam Brotherton and Britt Williams.

In the WISSOTA Street Stock feature, Michael Hammill grabbed the lead on the start and led all the way with Blayne Baloun and Tyler Lamb snapping at his heels every inch of the way. Casey Carstens and Jeff Rawstern rounded out the top five. It was Hammill’s third Street Stock feature win at the Miller Speedway.

Capping off the night were the WISSOTA Super Stocks. With the track still hammer-down fast, David Carlson led all the way for his second Super Stock feature win over Lorin Johnson, Jeremy North and Dustin Arthur.

It was a nice recovery for Johnson, as his car was in a bad wreck on Thursday night. Lorin had to work Friday, but his father Wilbur and at least half a dozen volunteers worked hard all day long to repair the car.

Next week is the WISSOTA Race of Champion qualifiers, and the Quad racers will also be there.

There are only five weeks remaining in the 2013 season. Races are the next five Friday nights at 7:30.

WISSOTA Super Stock main: 1. David Carlson, Huron 2. Lorin Johnson, Miller 3. Jeremy North, Huron 4. Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence DNF: Cole Searing, Huron.

Heat: Carlson, Johnson, Arthur, Searing, North.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified main: 1. Lorin Johnson, Miller 2. David Carlson, Huron 3. Kyle Knouse, Huron 4. Adam Brotherton, Huron 5. Britt Williams, Fort Pierre 6. Zach Pollock, Miller 7. Jim Danburg, Miller 8. Caleb Yost, Miller 9. Lane Johnson, Miller 10. Hayden Herman, Miller DNF: Spence Pollock, Miller.

Heat 1: Danburg, Brotherton, Williams, Lo. Johnson, Herman

Heat 2: Carlson, Knouse, S. Pollock, La. Johnson, Z. Pollock.

WISSOTA Street Stock main: 1. Michael Hammill, Miller 2. Blayne Baloun, St. Lawrence 3. Tyler Lamb, Clark 4. Casey Carstens, Mitchell 5. Jeff Rawstern, Blunt 6. Evan Wieseler, St. Lawrence.

Heat: Lamb, Carstens, Hammill, Baloun, Wieseler.

Clark Pump N Pak UCAR main: 1. Bowdry Morris, St. Lawrence 2. Curt Manning, Miller 3. Robert Ross, St. Lawrence 4. Mike Hammill, MIller 5. Brandon Hammill, Miller 6. Tre Blasdell, Miller 7. Jordan Rawstern, Blunt.

Heat: Morris, Blasdell, Manning, Ross, M. Hammill.


PUMP ‘N PAK /UCAR #44 Bowdry Morris, St. Lawrence.


WISSOTA Midwest Mod #3 Lorin Johnson, Miller.


WISSOTA Street Stock #18 Michael Hammill, Miller.


WISSOTA Super Stock #M Dave Carlson, Huron.



Lorin Johnson.JPG