FFA recognizes top leaders at State Leadership CDE

Posted December 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm

The South Dakota FFA Association hosted 446 FFA members from across South Dakota at the 2012 State FFA Leadership Career Development Events, held December 2-3 in Pierre. These FFA members advanced to the state level competition by placing first or second at their district competitions.

State FFA - Fiala.JPG

At the State Leadership Career Development Events, members and chapters were recognized for their success in 10 leadership areas. Winning teams and individuals advance to compete in their Career Development Event areas at the National FFA Convention in Louisville, Kentucky next fall.

South Dakota State Senate Democratic Leader Jason Frerichs addressed FFA members at the awards luncheon Monday afternoon. Frerichs shared the importance of agriculture and encouraged FFA members to be advocates for the industry.

Placing from Miller were Tia Pawlowski and Kirstyn Fiala.

Creed Speaking participants recite the FFA Creed and answer questions posed by the judges. This event is sponsored by Craig and Bonnie Dybedahl and Mike Ringgenberg. The national level sponsor is CHS Foundation. Tia Pawlowski, Miller, placed fifth, and received a silver.

Ag Broadcasting/Journalism, students have 30 minutes to prepare a five-minute agricultural radio newscast and then “air” it. This event is sponsored by Ludens Implement. Kirstyn Fiala, Miller, received a gold, placing second.