The Secretary of State’s Office has seen a significant increase in the number of permits to carry a concealed pistol issued in recent months. Secretary Jason Gant said, “The total number of active permits in South Dakota as of January 11, 2013 is 65,754.”
Concealed pistol permit numbers have increased during the past three years: 2011 – 15,794; 2012 – 18,031; 2013 through January 11 – 3,029.
Gant said, “An individual who wishes to carry a concealed pistol on or about his person or in a vehicle must obtain a permit to carry a concealed pistol. A person does not need a permit to own a pistol, keep it in his/her home, business, or property, or visibly carry it.”
To obtain a concealed pistol permit you must apply in person at your local sheriff’s office. Carrying a concealed pistol without a permit is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by one year imprisonment in a county jail or one thousand dollars fine, or both.
The applicant must also meet the following requirements:
Is eighteen years-of age or older; has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convicted of a felony or a crime of violence; is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition; has no history of violence; has not been found in the previous 10 years to be a “danger to others” or a “danger to self” or is not currently adjudged mentally incompetent; has physically resided in and is a resident of the county where the application is being made for at least 30 days immediately preceding the date of the application; has had no violations of firearms control, unlawful use of weapons, or controlled substances; marijuana, constituting a felony or misdemeanor in the five years preceding the date of application or is not currently charged under indictment or information for such an offense; is a citizen of the United States; and is not a fugitive from justice.
The sheriff will issue a temporary permit within five days from the date of application. Once the application is received in the Secretary of State’s Office a permanent permit will be issued and is valid for four years.
Reciprocity has been established with bordering states of North Dakota and Wyoming as well as 24 additional states. Please visit sdsos.gov for additional information.