Bandits take top spots at Gregory wrestling invite

Posted December 18, 2012 at 5:48 pm

The Miller-Highmore-Harrold Bandits traveled to Gregory Saturday, Dec. 8 to compete in the Gregory Invitational Wrestling Tournament. The Bandits had a strong showing against some of the perennial powers in wrestling in the state, and placed sixth as a team.

Wrest - Gnat.jpg

Individually, all six of the Bandits who competed in the tournament placed in the top four of their respective weight classes. J.C. Forman placed fourth in the 106-pound division with a record of 3-2. Michael Weidenbach finished in second place with a record of 2-1. Jaxson Brueggeman finished in fourth with a record of 4-2. Paul Waring finished runner-up in the 145-pound division with a record of 2-1. Devon Gnat was crowned the champion of the 152-pound division at 3-0, with Tre Blasdell finishing runner-up in the 182-pound division.



THE BANDITS’ DEVON GNAT works to control his opponent Turner Surr from Burke-Gregory in the championship match in the 152-pound division of the Gregory Invitational Wrestling tournament. Gnat defeated Surr to win the championship by a score of 6-3.


BANDIT WRESTLER Michael Weidenbach works over his opponent from Winner in a dual in Highmore on Thursday night. Weidenbach was victorious by a score of 10-2.

Bandits host quad, Parents’ Night at Highmore

The Miller-Highmore-Harrold Bandits hosted the Winner Warriors, SBA Crusaders, Kimball-White Lake-Platte Geddes Wildkats at Highmore December 13, for a quadrangular wrestling meet and Parents’ Night.

The Bandits fell to the Winner Warriors in their first dual by a score of 39-16. JC Forman started off the night for the Bandits with a pin of Taylor Watzel in a time of 1:28. Carter Canham suffered defeat at the hands of Ty Bolten by pin in a time of 5:57. Michael Weidenbach put the Bandits back in the win column with a major decision victory over Patrick Aeschasier by a score of 10-2. Cameron Biggens then defeated the Bandits; Glenn Aymar by major decision with a score of 8-0. Sean Bice defeated the Bandits’ Tristan Ashdown by fall in a time of 1:03. Tyrell Haley defeated Bandit Jaxson Brueggeman by a score of 5-2. The Bandits’ Paul Waring defeated Nolan Donahue by a score of 12-5. Devon Gnat defeated Brandyn Middlesworth with a score of 3-1. Tate Novotny defeated Bandit Tre Blasdell by fall in a time of 2:48. The Bandits’ Austin Aalbers was defeated by Jimmy Sharkey by a score of 5-4. Logan Boerner defeated the Bandits’ Marshall Johnson by fall in a time of 2:56.

The Bandits defeated the WildKats by a score of 51-15. Foreman defeated Alex Daum by fall in a time of 3:37. Canham defeated Jackson Nockel by fall in a time of 3:09. Weidenbach, Aymar and Ashdown each won by forfeit. Brueggeman defeated Cole Johnson in a time of 3:27. Waring defeated Jace Pulse in a time of 1:51. Gnat defeated Luke Warejcka by a score of 14-7. Turner Blasius defeated Blasell by a score of 5-1. Nathaniel Schroeder defeated Austin Aalbers in a time of 1:32. Johnson defeated Jordan Steven in a time of 0:31.

The Bandits defeated the Crusaders by a score of 53-21. Foreman won by forfeit. SBA’s Noah Appel won by forfeit. Weidenbach defeated Denver Paul by fall in a time of 1:01. Aymar and Ashdown won by forfeit. Tate Clark defeated Brueggeman by a score of 7-2. Waring defeated Trig Clark by technical fall by a score of 17-1. David Paul won by forfeit. Gnat won by forfeit. DJ Beckwith won by forfeit. Blasdell, Aalbers, and Johnson won by forfeit.